Memories from Iron Maiden’s concerts in Caracas on October 9 and 10, 1992

I’ve finally gotten my own copy of Iron Maiden’s last album titled “A Matter of Life and Death”. I really like the third song “Brighter than a Thousand Suns”. The lyric goes like this:

We are not the sons of God
We are not his chosen people now
We have crossed the path he trod
We will feel the pain of his beginning

Anyway… after getting the album, I started scavenging my old photo albums and got 5 pictures and a concert ticket. Here’s what I found:

Bruce Dickinson at “El Poliedro de Caracas”. Back in 1992, he had decided to leave the band, so that one was supposedly their last tour.

Bruce Dickinson at “El Poliedro de Caracas”. Back in 1992, he had decided to leave the band, so that one was supposedly their last tour.

On the stage, just in front of me, Mr. Steve Harris.

On the stage, just in front of me, Mr. Steve Harris.

Dave Murray (left) and Janick Geers (right). Steve is cut-out on the left side and Nicko McBrain’s drums are seen in the background.

Dave Murray (left) and Janick Geers (right). Steve is cut-out on the left side and Nicko McBrain’s drums are seen in the background.

Steve and Dave chatting while performing “Heaven can wait”… Meanwhile, Bruce was singin’:

Steve and Dave chatting while performing “Heaven can wait”… Meanwhile, Bruce was singin’:


“Take my hand I’ll lead you to the promised land
Take my hand I’ll give you immortality
Eternal youth I’ll take you to the other side
To see the truth the path for you is decided”

Me during Friday's concert. During all my college years I wore the exact same clothes: Blue jeans, black t-shirt, denim jacket decorated with a steel badge of Iron Maiden’s “No prayer for the dying” album cover and cowboy boots. The clip earring with a skull hanging from my left ear was only used on special occasions, like this concert.

Me during Friday’s concert. During all my college years I wore the exact same clothes: Blue jeans, black t-shirt, denim jacket decorated with a steel badge of Iron Maiden’s “No prayer for the dying” album cover and cowboy boots. The clip earring with a skull hanging from my left ear was only used on special occasions, like this concert.

The camera used was a Kodak Breeze 35-mm film camera. I took a lot of pictures while standing in the front row by raising my arm and shooting without focusing. The photos of the band showed here were the best ones I got. The last picture was taken by my dear friend “Homerito” Sanchez, Requiescat In Pace.

Responder

