What I remember from my college years

I spent my college years studying math and listening to Heavy Metal music. Back then, my general goal in life was to study math and listen to Heavy Metal music. At some point of my studies, I “needed” to learn computer science to deploy finite element method tools to my structural engineering projects, so I drop out of school for a semester to study computer science on my own. After that hiatus, I returned to school and started studying structural analysis and design almost exclusively, disregarding almost entirely the rest of the curriculum. It was a bumpy road. I was regularly skipping classes I didn’t like in order to take more advanced structural analysis classes or simply calculating and projecting theoretical structures. I still have nightmares about not graduating for a failed exam in “fluid mechanics” or something like that. Anyway, I finally graduated as a Civil Engineer. A funny thing is that after a brief employment in a structural design firm in Caracas, I moved out to Maracaibo and never worked in my beloved field again.

Responder

